Those Who Do Nothing Wrong, Have Nothing To Hide: C.I.A. Destroys Torture Tapes

Let’s keep this real simple. The New York Times broke a story today about the C.I.A. destroying 2 tapes of interrogations of al Qaeda operatives back in 2005.

The videotapes showed agency operatives in 2002 subjecting terrorism suspects — including Abu Zubaydah, the first detainee in C.I.A. custody — to severe interrogation techniques. The tapes were destroyed in part because officers were concerned that video showing harsh interrogation methods could expose agency officials to legal risks, several officials said.

The tapes of C.I.A. agents doing illegal things were destroyed because the C.I.A. didn’t want to get in trouble for doing illegal things? Mind blowing, I know. Here’s why this whole ordeal sucks:

  • Despite what the C.I.A. is saying, this is blatant proof that we’re using torture. We already know that the C.I.A. has been waterboarding, so that means that C.I.A. operatives were probably doing something worse than simulating death through drowning.
  • The recordings were not provided to the federal court that was hearing the case of Zacarias Moussaoui or the Sept. 11 commission, despite formal requests to the C.I.A. for any documentary evidence taken from interrogations of agency prisoners. In fact, the C.I.A. directly lied to our government about having these tapes, both in 2003 and 2005, to keep them hidden, despite the fact that they could have helped in the Moussaoui case. There’s a name for withholding evidence being sought in criminal or fact-finding investigations. It’s obstruction of justice, and it’s a crime. I’m glad to see our government agencies are performing crimes against our own government.
  • Our Central Intelligence Agency is videotaping people being tortured. That’s a whole new level of sick and depraved.

Since the C.I.A. is probably reading this right now, here’s a message for them. My mom used to tell me that if I need to hide what I’m doing, I probably shouldn’t be doing it. If you need destroy tapes of your actions because you don’t want people to see them, you’re probably doing something wrong. This is sick and this is wrong. Destroying your tapes to cover your tracks is only admitting that you already knew that.

C.I.A. Destroyed 2 Tapes Showing Interrogations – [New York Times]

Leave a Reply

