McCain: If the election comes down to Iraq, ‘Then I lose’

John McCain seen above saying “Don’t shoot! Don’t shoot!,” before being told that those things the men are holding are a new(ish) invention called the “camera,” said today that if he cannot convince America that the war in Iraq is succedding, “Then I lose.”

Oops. McCain then realized that this may not be the best way to put things and six seconds later later added:

“Lemme not put it that stark. Lemme just put it this way: Americans will judge my candidacy on how, first and foremost, on how they believe I can lead the country both from our economy and for national security.”

Nice save. But, the straight-talk express just kept on truckin’:

Okay. Obviously, Iraq will play a role in their judgment of my ability to handle national security. Okay. I retract — if I may, I’d like to retract, ‘I’ll lose’, but I don’t think there’s any doubt that how they judge Iraq will have a direct relation to their judgment of me. My support of the surge. Clearly, I am tied to it to a large degree.

Thank you John McCain for telling the American people yourself your greatest weakness; your staunch, Bush-esque support of the war. You’re right, seeing as 70% of America think the war was a mistake, if the Democrats can make the war the main issue, you’re toast. It’s sad that the war has been put on the back burner, at least according to exit polls. While people fear for the economy and worry about healthcare and education, they need to realize that the $2 billion a week we spend on the war could solve a lot of the problems our nation currently faces. Thank you for bringing this issue back into the light John.

McCain’s Straight Talk Goes Off Message – [Washington Post]

Leave a Reply

