McCain’s Maturity Shines Through

McCain

John McCain is renouncing comments made at a recent rally held in Cincinnati, Ohio during an introduction speech given by Bill Cunningham – a conservative talk-show radio host from the area. During his introduction of McCain at the rally, Cunningham made several derogatory comments towards Senator Barack Obama, as well as references to Obama’s Muslim middle name – Hussein – three times during the course of his speech. At one point, Cunningham attacked the media for their biased coverage of McCain, and their comparative ‘easy’ coverage of Obama:

at one point, the media will quit taking sides in this thing and start covering Barack Hussein Obama.”

Shortly after Cunningham’s introduction, McCain spoke the Cincinnati crowd with no reference to Cunningham’s prior remarks. At a a press conference following the speech, however, McCain apologized for the remarks, stating that by the time he arrived Cunningham had exited the stage. He further commented:

“I have repeatedly stated my respect for Senator Obama and Senator Clinton, that I will treat them with respect. I will call them ‘Senator.’ We will have a respectful debate, as I have said on hundreds of occasions. I regret any comments that may have been made about these two individuals who are honorable Americans…. Whatever suggestion that was made that was any way disparaging to the integrity, character, honesty of either Senator Obama or Senator Clinton was wrong. I condemn it, and if I have any responsibility, I will take the responsibility, and I apologize for it.”

I truly have to commend John McCain on this issue, as he respectfully approached the topic and respectfully acknowledged Cunningham’s inappropriate remarks. It gives me incredible hope that if this November’s election comes down to McCain and Obama, we might actually see a political race that transcends the typical opponent-disparagement platform America has been so familiar with in the past. Keep your fingers crossed that the right-wing political-attack machines don’t come out in full force, and maybe we can see a real debate this fall between the candidates.

McCain Repudiates ‘Hussein Obama’ Remarks – [The Caucus – NYT]

6 Responses

  1. That was really surprising and really hopeful. Pat on the back for Johnny Boy, he could have not said anything and no one would have blamed him, but he took the high road and denounced those comments.

  2. And plus…who wouldn’t want a candidate who can legitimately say that “handsome is my middle name”
    awww shit

  3. I’ll give McCain the benefit of the doubt on this one, but he can’t let this happen again. Do you really think he didn’t know the kind of person he had opening for him? Anyone who knows Bill Cunningham had to know he was going to say some outrageous things like that, yet the McCain campaign allowed him to open anyway. And do you really think McCain was totally unaware of what happened before he went on stage? I say it’s more likely that McCain did know, but decided it would be more convenient to apologize once everyone had left.

    Maybe I’m wrong, but anyone can apologize. Having a surrogate attack your opponent viciously then apologizing isn’t clean politics. If I had a friend punch you, and I then I apologized for it, it still doesn’t help the fact that you got punched.

    Like I said, I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt this time, but any repeated cases like this and I’m going to call it a campaign tactic.

  4. “Maybe I’m wrong, but anyone can apologize. Having a surrogate attack your opponent viciously then apologizing isn’t clean politics. If I had a friend punch you, and I then I apologized for it, it still doesn’t help the fact that you got punched.”

    But that doesnt mean it is your fault, you could have had no idea the punching was going to occur, and then apologize because you are a nice person who knows you did not deserve to get punched. I trust John Mccain to run a decent campaign. Doesnt mean you cant say anything negative about your opponent, just nothing dirty or underhanded or blatantly false.

  5. Right, and I said I’m going to give McCain the benefit of the doubt this time that he had no idea the punching was going to occur. However, if this kind of thing continues, I won’t think it’s a coincidence. The good cop/bad cop routine is as old as time. Have somebody else do the negative attacking and be the bad cop, then once the damage is done, you can quietly come in and apologize and look like the good cop. Pack it up and head to the next town to do it again. It’s very effective. Look at today! He got a speaker to say nasty things about Obama and came out as the good guy. I say that’s a winning strategy for the McCain camp. If it continues, I won’t fall for it.

  6. The DNC is running an ad taking McCain’s “100 year war” comment and twisting it into a pretzel as we speak. It is nothing less than a blatant lie. Obama says nothing. McCain also blasted the GOP for running a similar ad against Obama. Obama better start coming clean, also. The Obama Camp can’t have their cake and eat it too.

Leave a Reply

